Marathon!

This post  is the story of a something quite unlikely, statistically speaking: a successful New Year’s Resolution. I had three this year: to learn to play the fiddle, to get better at German and to run a marathon. I haven’t done too well with the first two (although I did practice fiddle today!) but I have been consistently running since January. What’s more, I’ve been consistently running farther and farther. My most recent running milestone came with the completion of a half-marathon in the Foot Traffic Flat on Sauvie Island on 4th of July.

Now, I’ve signed up for the Portland Marathon on October 10, 2010. The money is paid, the challenge has been accepted, there’s no turning back now. I’m excited for the race!

The painful final three miles of the half are still fresh in my memory so I’m also a little apprehensive — the idea of running from Portland to Newberg (or San Francisco to Walnut Creek!) seems just a bit crazy but I figure all I have to do is finish. One step across the finish line and I will have met a personal goal, actually kept a New Year’s Resolution and accomplished something pretty significant. All that, and the fact that I’ve actually come to really enjoy running make this a goal worth working toward. And I hereby swear that I will run, walk or limp and beg, borrow or steal my way across the finish line!

I’ll be writing weekly posts here, counting down to the race, chronicling my training and creating a record of the process for myself. I hope you’ll join me online as I prepare and join me in person for a post-race celebration on 10/10/2010.

12 weeks to the race!

Leave a Reply

