Wie Sagt Man “Sticken”?

In the fall of2008 a friend hosted a “learn to knit” party at her apartment. The fifteen or so people at the party were equally divided between new knitters and more experienced knitters who were teaching the rest of us. Of the 7 or 8 beginners I was the very last one to learn how to knit. The very last one.

Later that year I accidentally stabbed myself in the thigh with a knitting needle while waiting at a crosswalk. Despite these inauspicious beginnings I now love knitting and do it all the time. My favorite place to knit is in class. The action helps me focus and makes good use of time which would just be spent sitting otherwise. So, here are some pictures of things I’ve knit and something I’m working on.

PS: Some of these pictures are, admittedly, not of the highest quality. Maybe someday a friend will have a “learn to work a camera” party and I”ll be able to take nice pictures of the things I’ve knitted.

I knit these socks for my sister in 2009. I think these are the single best thing I've ever made.

 

This might win second place. It's a cowl with a pretty checkboard pattern. It's a good thing I like it because it took a long time to make.

 

These comfy house socks were knit over Thanksigiving weekend 2010. Most of the kinitting was complleted during marathon car trips over snowy mountain passes on our way to the Eastern Sierras.

 

This hat was knit during a semester's worth of night classes. It's really warm and smells slightly of propane gas because I've worn to many Friday Night Franks cook-outs.

 

This hat was knit from very fragile wool I got in Iceland last summer. The wool pulls apart easily until it's knit up so I was really pleased to get through a whole project without the whole thing disintegrating in my hands. I haven't had a chance to wear it yet.

 

I knit these gloves during Theological German Reading Class last summer. If you look closely at the picture you'll see little scars and lines of stitches where I had to bolster the knitting and patch up holes.

 

This was knit over Christmas 2009. My little brother looked at it and complimented me on the way I incorporated a mistake I had made so it didn't look so obvious. You may be able to find it if you look at the pattern row right below the buttons.

 

This is my current project sitting on the couch. I'm using up scrap yarn from old projects and making a striped sock (on the right side of the picture)

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wie Sagt Man “Sticken”?

Leave a Reply

