I’ve got that joy joy joy joy down in my heart.

I want to know if you feel the same way I do about something. More accurately, I want to know if you experience one facet of life the same way I do.

That facet is this: sometimes, I think when I’m least wrapped up in myself, it makes me ebulliently happy just to see people I know just being who they are in the way they do. Does that make sense? I’ll give you an example: sitting in class during discussions or doing group work I’ll look over at a fellow student and just see them going about their work. The way God has made them to be just makes me happy. I’m happy that there are people in the world who are very diligent and conscientious about their work. I’m happy that there are people in the world who bring sports metaphors into everything. I’m happy that there are people who procrastinate on every single assignment so sometimes they’re just finishing the last word as the teacher is calling on them. I’m happy that there are people who have a beautiful artistic eye and dress beautifully every day. I’m happy there are people who are grumpy and prickly every single day.  I’m happy that there are people in the world who do things in their idiosyncratic way that is not my way but that is their way that works for them.

In church this morning I looked at our musicians and pastors and I just thought how precious it is that each person up there has their own quirks and strengths and weaknesses. It’s such a funny, sweet little gift that we can all give each other: I get to be me in your life. Not great, or exciting or dramatic, just me and me is not you so we get to be me and you together.

I didn’t feel this way before I became a Christian. But, like I said, in my better moments I feel that way now. So, do you ever feel that way too?

4 thoughts on “I’ve got that joy joy joy joy down in my heart.

  1. Yes! I often feel this way about my friends and family. I’ve had the thought about the stranger and what delight God takes and them and if they know this fact. Its beautiful to see the beauty in people.

  2. Can I quote you on “I get to be me in your life. Not great, or exciting or dramatic, just me and me is not you so we get to be me and you together”???

Leave a Reply

