June 18-19, 2011

Alright, in the last 48 hours I have:

(1) Run/walked 6.1 miles and climbed/swum/slid/jumped/crawled 30 obstacles in the MS Mud Run 2011. I was exhausted, sore, dirty and drained afterwards. The picture of myself below, post-race, should stand as a permanent proof of my good self-esteem … Let’s just say it’s not the most flattering picture ever.

(2) Then I met a tennis friend in Vancouver and drove to Seattle. We went to a Mariners game with a group of his friends. They played the Phillies and lost 5-1. I think my very favorite part of the game was in the bottom of the ninth inning. The Phillies fans in my section started chanting “Let’s go Phillies!” and clapping. They’d been doing this all game, of course. A woman wearing a Seahawks jersey next to me for some reason looked up at that particular cheer and said, in a very offended voice, “Hey!”. She proceeded to loudly yell “Mariners” whenever they said “Phillies” and every time she would poke her husband and try to get him to do the same. He recognized it for the lost cause it was, though, and just started packing up their blankets and beer cups to leave.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(3) Gone to Pike’s Place Market, the Seattle Aquarium and the Crab Pot Restaurant. The Seattle Aquarium was a little provincial, I thought, especially compared with the Monterey Bay Aquarium but I really enjoyed just being in Seattle. It’s such a big city compared to Portland! There’s something calming & invigorating, I think, about being next to the ocean. I felt like just standing on the pier and staring out at the sound made the trip worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(4) Kept my temper and held my tongue. Going on a weekend trip with someone you don’t know very well is like a 48-hour long first date. It really (really) shows you how compatible you are with the other person. Different wants & habits, you know? All’s well that ends well, I suppose, and this was, in the end, a successful trip.

In the coming week I want to talk a little bit about the nature of blogging, an exciting event that I hope will be happening and a hiking adventure. That all sounds good, right? (I’m being extra diligent to make up for my non-post yesterday 😉 )

Leave a Reply

