The Preacher

Sometimes I have trouble consistently reading my Bible before bed. I have my favorite Bible on my bedside table and a bedside light, too, but sometimes turning the light on and opening the book just seems like too much trouble. I started reading the Bible on my iPod and it made a huge difference! I read a chapter a night, now. I’m almost done with Ecclesiastes.

Ecclesiastes is mind-bending book. Have you ever read it? In it “the preacher” comments on his investigations into the worth and meaning of life. He concludes, time after time, that everything in life is “vanity.” An example of vanity is working hard in your life only to see someone else enjoy the fruits of your labor, Some surprising things are vanity like working hard in life only to see someone else. “Vanity” is also when bad things happen to good people and good things happen to bad people.

Basically, the preacher just reflects on the illogicality of the world: we strive and then pass away and don’t enjoy the fruit. Or, we strive and nothing comes of it. The preacher says this: “And I commend joy, for man has no good thing under the sun but to eat and drink and be joyful, for this will go with him in his toil through the days of his life that God has given him under the sun.” Is that what you would expect to find in the Christian Bible? Of course, it has to be viewed in light of the big picture — Jesus did come and will come again.

I really recommend reading a little bit of Ecclesiastes. It’s a fascinating, meditative book. Also, it suggests that perhaps pets will also go to Heaven! Also, does anyone have suggestions as to which book of the Bible I should read next? I would really like to read a book of one of the prophets but I need help interpreting it. So, any suggestions for good books about the Prophets would be welcome too. What are you reading right now?

5 thoughts on “The Preacher

  1. Eccleciastes is one of my favorite books of the bible. same with Celia. super deep.

    I’m reading Mark. We’re starting it in small group. I don’t understand the prophets at all except for a couple minor ones I think. I forget which ones at the moment.

    • Yeah, I would really like to read Jeremiah — maybe after I finish 1 Samuel I”ll look for a commentary on Jeremiah and read that next.

      Hosea is good! That’s one of my favorite books of the prophets!

  2. Ecclesiastes makes me smile. I would recommend reading more than a little bit of it; I would read all of it, all twelve chapters, beginning to end!

    To answer the two questions: I am reading Nehemiah. And if you’re wanting to hit the Prophets soon, I would recommend Amos. (If you’ve decided on reading Jeremiah, Eugene Peterson’s “Run with the Horses” is the only commentary I’ve ever read on it. It’s helpful for the big picture.)

Leave a Reply

