Penultimate

I’m not sure what I want to write to you about tonight. I have many germs of blog posts in my head but I reject them all for various reasons: too boring, too involved, too lengthy, too obscure, too confessional, too solipsistic … Part of writing the blog is finding my way to a balance between what I want to write about and what the imaginary or composite you in my head wants to read.

There are things that I would tell you if we talked in person or over the phone that just seem too inconsequential to put in writing. There are things that I would only write and not say in person because it’s too revealing or intimate and I need the distance the printed word provides. But, I don’t want to write those things to the whole internet.

There’s the easy route: a summary of my day. Many bloggers make a respectable living off of such diaristic endeavors. A popular subgenre of blogging is “food blogging” in which people take pictures of everything they eat and post in on their blogs along with commentary. These “health and lifestyle” bloggers also post information about their workouts, their personal lives and their psychological struggles of various sorts. The description I just gave may sound somewhat dismissive but I don’t mean it to be. I understand the appeal of these bloggers because, in fact, I find them appealing myself. I’m trying to live a healthier lifestyle than what I have lived in the past and reading their entries gives me inspiration and encouragement. And, yet, I am not a health and lifestyle blogger because, partly, I’m not really currently in a place to be giving anyone advice and, secondly, I just don’t think it would be all that stimulating long-term.

In fact, I’m not a blogger period. I’m a person with a blog. But, despite the complaining, I have enjoyed the challenging of this blogging month. It’s been a good way to connect with people in my life and on the internets. I’ll try to come up with something good for the last blog-a-day post tomorrow!

One thought on “Penultimate

Leave a Reply

