Staging

Here’s just a very quick post to say that I’m in Atlanta and I survived staging. As we were congratulatorily informed by Peace Corps personnel this afternoon, I and everyone else in my group are now officially Peace Corps trainees.

The next step is a plane ride to Amsterdam and the another from Amsterdam to Kigali, Rwanda. They have given us only extremely limited information about what to expect when we arrive in Kigali so what happens after the plane ride is a pretty significant unknown for now.

I’m enjoying getting to know all of the other Rwanda Ed Group Peace Corps volunteers. It’s much more diverse group, geographically, socio-economically and personality-wise, than I expected. I’m looking forward to getting to know people more as we spend lots and lots of quality time together in language classes and technical training.

Other than that, I spent a fair amount of time today talking to people on the phone and facebooking/e-mailing/texting. Leaving is much harder than I thought it would be. In fact, I think the emotions connected with leaving have pretty much drowned out my excitement for the trip at the moment. I’m hopeful that my excitement will be rekindled when we get to Kigali.

In my next post I hope to have lots of information about how to stay in contact during the next 27 months. Please keep in touch!

4 thoughts on “Staging

  1. AHHH! So many things running through my mind! I’m looking forward to learning all the ways to stay in touch! I plan to use them all!!!

Leave a Reply

